top of page

Who am I?

Updated: Jun 8, 2021

I qualified as a doctor in 1990 from Leicester University.

With a background in General Practice and Palliative Medicine I realised how easy it was for doctors to slip into medical jargon when talking to their patients, often leaving them bewildered and confused.

I am passionate about explaining complex medical matters in easy to understand terms.

Over more than 25 years of practice I learnt how to describe and explain complicated medical conditions in ways that allowed the patient to gain a better understanding of both their illness and their treatment options.


Since 2014 I have worked as a freelance medical writer compiling in-depth health & disease reports for both corporate clients and charities working overseas, often in challenging and dangerous circumstances. I have done several pieces of work on Ebola Virus Disease and advised on disease risks and outbreaks in places where healthcare services are often heavily depleted or rudimentary.

I wrote the medical content for the app "Remote Medical Support-Your Travel Health Doctor", an app for travellers and expedition companies.


Since 2015 I have worked closely with DH Clamp Consulting, an International Risk Management Consultancy writing health reports for many of their clients.

COVID-19 has caused profound disruption to charity and aid work overseas. During the pandemic we have been working with several clients based in Africa helping them to update their programme protocols to take account of a COVID-19 world and allow them to keep working.

This blog is sponsored by DHClamp Consulting and I am grateful for their input and support.

You can read more about the company here:

And you can find me here on LinkedIn:



91 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page